top of page
Search
Writer's pictureCuiwen Zhou

Week 2 Extra Credit: About My Classmates

Updated: Jan 31, 2021

  • Christy is a second-year business-economics-major student at UCI. Her Language and Grammar quiz report aligns with her expectations, which she has troubles with vocabulary and grammar, punctuation usage in particular.

  • I commented that I also have similar problems with vocabulary in writing.

 
  • Ashley is from Taipei, Taiwan; her major is computer science and engineering major. She has problems with paraphrasing in the Language and Grammar quiz. As a writer or communicator, she is better at organizing the overall essay structure rather than individual sentences.

  • I commented that I also have similar strengths and weaknesses as her.

 
  • Tianai is from Shanghai and is majoring in Mathematics. It was interesting to learn about her writing courses prior to Writing 39A, which one is TOEFL writing and the other is a college-writing prep course.

  • I commented about the neatness of her blog and agree that paraphrasing is difficult.

 
  • Melissa Marcial is from Los Angeles, CA and is majoring in Public Health Science at UCI. In her blog, she mentions that English is not her primary language, which makes her unconfident in showing her writings to others.

  • I have similar experiences as her since English is not my first language either.

 
  • Abigail is from Wisconsin, and she has passion for Environment sustainability. It is interesting to know that subject-verb agreement was a struggle for her based on the Language and Grammar quiz, which is one of the easiest areas for me.

  • Her descriptions of previous English courses remind me of my high school English classes, which we did lots of practice in formatting an essay.

 
  • In Leo’s blog, I found out that he actually learned how to find sources using an online library in Academic English 20C.

  • I commented that I never have the chance to formally learn how to “research,” which is always a struggle for me.



12 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page